The Big Secret About Vegan Sweets…

They’re delicious! It’s a common misconception that anything vegan isn’t as tasty as something that contains dairy or gelatine. WLPM vegan sweets are some of the best on offer, and when you’re building your ‘create your own’ bag, you’re likely selecting a ton of vegan goodies without even realising.

Gelatine is the main thing used in sweets that stops them from being vegan friendly. Dairy products of course are another obvious culprit, and you’d be surprised (maybe) by how many of your fave sweets contain bees wax. The keen carnivores among us won’t be fazed by a little bit of gelatine; but as its usually derived from pig and cow bone, it’s not got that vegan vibe.

Gelatine is usually replaced by agar agar; a plant-based product derived from seaweed which can be used in the same way (as a thickening agent). I bet you didn’t think you’d be learning so much from West London Pick and Mix today! Neither did I to be honest… I only started this blog to tell you how good my vegan sweets were… but here we agar…

So which tasty numbers am I referring to? Flying saucers, mermaids, meerkats, giant strawberries, fizzy cola bottles (yep! It’s true!) and many, many more. Check out the WLPM ingredients page or head over to ‘create your own’ where each vegan sweet will be marked with VG.

Why? Because life should be sweet, whether or not you eat meat!



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up to our newsletter and receive 10% off your first order!